YA Superlatives Blogfest

Class of 2014: YA Superlatives Blogfest, Day 2

class-of-2014_banner

See yesterday’s post for details. All book covers link to Goodreads pages.

Day 2 – Popularity Contest

Villain I Love to Hate

“You will be a wife and a mother, and that is all.”

I don’t think there was anyone I hated as much as Vicky’s father in A Mad, Wicked Folly. To be fair to him, he’s a product of the Victorian era, when high society women didn’t do things like go to art school or vote or really do much of anything outside the home that wasn’t related to socializing or charities. So, really, in a way, it could be argued that what he felt was best – but at the same time, it was really about what was best for him and his family’s name, and not what was best for his daughter. So while part of me wanted to punch him in the face because he stood for the things my feminist heart is against, I mostly wanted to punch him in the face because Vicky was another possession to him and that was it.

Most Likely to Become a Rock Star

“You do not follow me because I am the strongest. Pax is. You do not follow me because I am the brightest. Mustang is. You follow me because you do not know where you are going. I do.”

Darrow from Red Rising proves he can definitely get people to follow him. He’s got the charisma for it. He’s going to have to find an outlet for all those feelings after he’s done taking down the solar system’s corrupt government.

Most Likely to Start a Riot

She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no one.

I’m calling a tie for two characters from Heir of Fire: Celaena and Manon. Although all I really want in life is for their paths to cross so they can start riots together, tbh. It would be beautiful.

Biggest Flirt

landrypark

David. What a player. He has an agenda, and he’s willing to use every tool at his disposal, and I’m still not sure how I feel about that.

Coolest Nerd

FreetoFall

North is a barista and has this total hipster thing going on, but what few people know is that he likes to hack government computers in his spare time, and he doesn’t even bat an eye when his girlfriend tells him she wants his help taking down a major corporation. I feel like this is the sort of love we should all strive for.

Fashion Queens

BreathofFrost

As society girls in 1814, I can only salivate over all of the gorgeous dresses Gretchen, Emma, and Penelope would have access to. Because you should still look fabulous when you’re hunting down vengeful spirits in your free time.

Character I’d Most Want for a BFF

LetsGetLost

How much fun would it be to road trip with Leila?

Character I Wish I’d Dated in High School

TIKOM

Finn is sweet and responsible. And adorable.

My Review Here

Most Likely to Become President

InfiniteSea

Ben has proven himself something of a leader. He was the quarterback on his high school’s football team, he picked up a following in the prison camp, and his little band of followers still looks to him in this book. He’s stayed alive this long, so clearly he’s got a lot of motivation. If anyone can stick it to the aliens and then be leader of the new world, he can.

Favorite Parental Figure

“People go entire lives without figuring out exactly what they want from life. You already have it, and the future you and your dad have planned out for you in going to take it away from you.”

I really liked Hudson’s dad in Let’s Get Lost because he so clearly wanted what was best for his son. Also, he is probably the only parent in any book I read from this year who was both present and cared about his child/wasn’t using him to meet his own agenda, so way to be, Hudson’s dad.

13 thoughts on “Class of 2014: YA Superlatives Blogfest, Day 2

  1. I love how you included quotes for your characters! I did that a couple times too. And now I totally want to read this series because of this: “I’m calling a tie for two characters from Heir of Fire: Celaena and Manon. Although all I really want in life is for their paths to cross so they can start riots together” – lots of others are giving me great character vibes from this one too.

  2. This is crazy, but I don’t have any overlap with you today with the exception of A MAD, WICKED FOLLY. Kind of weird, since we often read a lot of the same books. That’s all right, because it just means I have a bunch of books to add to my TBR list! 😀

Leave a Reply

