Uncategorized

Class of 2014: YA Superlatives Blogfest, Day 4

class-of-2014_banner

It’s the last day of the 2014 YA Superlatives Blogfest! See Monday’s post for details.

Day Four: Best in Show

Favorite Cover

WinnersCurse

Cutest Couple

PushGirls

Kara and Jack 5ever. (Nice boys are my winners on this year’s list, apparently.)

Most Likely to Succeed

EverythingLeadstoYou

Nina LaCour writes beautifully and her books are full of compelling characters.

Most Likely to Make You Miss Your Bedtime

KissofDeception

This was my other favorite fantasy read of the year. The twists and turns – especially regarding the love triangle – made it impossible for me to put this one down, but there is also fantastic world building, as well as a princess who ran away from home to figure out who she really is. I really did miss my bedtime to finish this and had absolutely zero regrets.

Best Repeat Performance

HoF

If Sarah J. Maas keeps up like this, she’s got a lock on this category for a couple more years.

Favorite Finale

StillBlue

Best Breakout Novel (aka debut)

AMWF

Best Old-Timer

Blackbirds

First of all, how many YA novels are there about the Spanish flu? This is the only one I can think of. So that immediately caught my attention. Ultimately, I stayed up past my bedtime to finish this one because of the suspense, as well as the fact that it was totally creepy so I couldn’t really sleep, anyway.

Most Likely to Make a Grown Man Cry

FiP

Most Pleasant Surprise

Blackbird

RedRising

Both of these are books I couldn’t get into at first but eventually ended up winning me over. Blackbird is written in second person, which put me off at first but ultimately was something that worked to highlight how the narrator feels like she’s outside herself. With Red Rising, I spent the first fifty pages rolling my eyes at the main character, at which point he loses everything and has to figure out how to deal with that.

Most Creative Use of a Love Triangle

KissofDeception

Lia finds herself torn between two men, one of whom is an assassin sent to kill her, and we spend most of the book not knowing who is who because both are equally compelling.

Sleeper Hit

TyrantsDaughter

It gets political thriller-y toward the end, but for the most part, this is a story about a teenage girl who just happens to be the daughter of a deposed Middle Eastern dictator. I liked this look at cultural differences between American culture and Laila’s culture, as well as how she tries to reconcile them. In all the important ways, she’s just another teenage girl, so I feel like this is an important book for people to read.

Favorite Books with LGBTQ Characters

I feel like there are a lot more books featuring LGBTQ characters than when I was a teenager, which is great. I read several this year, so I wanted to highlight some of them.

EverythingLeadstoYou

summer

This one is critical of religion, which was my only major issue since I know plenty of people who are religious and aren’t as judgmental as some of the characters in this book are portrayed. But at the same time, religion in this book is one of the sources of conflict since it drives the people trying to “cure” the kids at the camp, so there’s that.

SomethingReal

The main character’s brother is gay but still in the closet, until his parents out him on live national television. Which, by the way, is one of the most gut-wrenching scenes I’ve ever read in a book.

loveletters

My favorite part of this book was the subplot where two of Laurel’s female friends have feelings for each other and are trying to figure out what to do about it. Their confusion and fear were, unfortunately, realistic.

12 thoughts on “Class of 2014: YA Superlatives Blogfest, Day 4”

  1. For all of us who have read THE KISS OF DECEPTION, I think it was the clear choice for the love triangle category. Such a unique twist on it. Honestly, I had a hard time choosing between that one and THE WINNER’S CURSE for so many categories this year. Both were excellent!

    1. If I had read The Winner’s Curse in 2014, it probably would’ve won all of the categories. If The Winner’s Crime is anywhere near as good, all of the other 2015 releases I read will have some serious competition!

  2. Welp, THE KISS OF DECEPTION is first on my list of must-buys thanks to this blogfest. I’ve seen so much love for it this week! Great choices, Stephanie, and thanks so much for joining us this week! ❤

  3. Have you read I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN? I am pretty sure you would love it. That book is awesome and it, along with EVERYTHING LEADS TO YOU, would definitely be my choices for your super cool superlative category! Thanks for joining us again! So fun!

Leave a Reply

