Book Reviews

2014 End of Year Book Survey

I came across this survey on The Perpetual Page-Turner to highlight all of the books you read in 2014 and decided I needed to do it! Unlike my YA Superlatives, this highlights ALL of the books I read in 2014.

IMG_0003

2014 Reading Stats

Number of Books I Read: 80 (final total TBD)
Number of Rereads: 4
Genre I Read the Most From: Surprisingly, Contemporary, with 24. (And I read the most from YA, with 63.)

IMG_0107

Best In Books

  1. Best Book I Read in 2014: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas
  2. Book I Was Excited About and Thought I’d Love More but Didn’t: Defy by Sara B. Larson
  3. Most Surprising Book I Read (in a good way!): Unearthly by Cynthia Hand
  4. Book I Pushed the Most People to Read: Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour
  5. Best Series I Started: Unearthly // Best Sequel: Heir of Fire // Best Series Ender: Into the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi
  6. Favorite New Author I Discovered: Cat Winters
  7. Best Book that was Out of My Comfort Zone: Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides
  8. Most Unputdownable Book of the Year: Mistress of Rome by Kate Quinn
  9. Book I am Most Likely to Reread in 2015: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson
  10. Favorite Cover of a Book I Read: Everything Leads to You
  11. Most Memorable Character: Rowan from Heir of Fire
  12. Most Beautifully Written Book: Falling into Place by Amy Zhang
  13. Most Thought-Provoking Book: The Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney
  14. Book I Can’t Believe I Waited Until 2014 to Read: Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson
  15. Favorite Quote: “It would not take a monster to destroy a monster – but light, light to drive out darkness.” –Heir of Fire
  16. Shortest Book I Read: Proxy by Mindee Arnett (90 pages) // Longest Book: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy (1235 pages)
  17. Book that Shocked Me the Most: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas
  18. OTP OF THE YEAR: Juliet & Edward from The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd
  19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship: Celaena & Rowan from Heir of Fire
  20. Favorite Book from an Author I’ve Read Before: Everything Leads to You
  21. Best Book I Read Solely from Peer Pressure: How to Love by Katie Cotugno
  22. Newest Fictional Crush: Tarver from These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
  23. Best 2014 Debut I Read: A Mad, Wicked Folly by Sharon Biggs Waller
  24. Best Worldbuilding: Red Rising by Pierce Brown
  25. Book that Put a Smile on My Face: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
  26. Book that Made Me Nearly Cry: Falling into Place
  27. Hidden Gem of the Year: A Breath of Frost by Alyxandra Harvey
  28. Book that Crushed My Soul: Heir of Fire
  29. Most Unique Book: In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters
  30. Book that Made Me the Most Mad: Champion by Marie Lu

IMG_0184

Looking Ahead

  1. One Book I Didn’t Get to but is a Number One Priority in 2015: The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski
  2. Non-Debut I’m Most Anticipating: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
  3. 2015 Debut I’m Most Anticipating: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
  4. Sequel I’m Most Anticipating: Throne of Glass #4 by Sarah J. Maas
  5. One Thing I Hope to Accomplish in My Reading Life: Finally read 100 books in a year!
2 thoughts on “2014 End of Year Book Survey”

  1. I liked Tarver too. Great character. Didn’t like the sequel to the first book as much though but it was still good. I also enjoyed Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour. Just finished it. The Winner’s Curse was great. Good list. I’m going to read a few of the books you’ve highlighted!

Leave a Reply

