Book Reviews

Review: UNRAVEL ME by Tahereh Mafi

UnravelMeTitle: Unravel Me
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Series: Shatter Me, #2
Genre: Young Adult – Dystopian, Paranormal – Superhumans
Publication Information: HarperCollins, 2013
Rating: 4.5 Stars
Recommended For: People who like morally ambiguous characters. Namely: Warner.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

(Summary from Goodreads)

First of all, I have to get this off my chest: I could not possibly care less about Adam.

THERE. I feel so much better now.

Although, I do have to say, things certainly got a lot more interesting with Adam in this book. Like, I don’t like him with Juliette because it seems way too obvious, and I also never found him as interesting a character as Warner. But there was some new conflict introduced involving Adam, and I am looking forward to seeing how he deals with it moving forward. So he’s grown on me. A little.

WARNER. Oh, Warner <3. I was mildly concerned after reading Shatter Me because I developed something of a crush on him, and, well, he didn’t make very good decisions (which I realize is a complete and total understatement). But after reading Destroy Me and now Unravel Me, I’m happy to see that my faith in him wasn’t misplaced. There’s A LOT going on with him, for a variety of reasons, and it’ll be interesting to see what he does in the last book. If you like morally ambiguous characters, Mafi has absolutely succeeded with Warner.

But really, it’s all about Juliette. She annoyed me a little for the first portion of the book because I felt like she’d gone right back to where she started in the previous book, but Unravel Me was really about her realizing the only person she needed to rely on is herself, as opposed to Adam, who had become a security blanket for her. (This is related to another development to Adam that is tangentially related to the other development I already mentioned.) Also, she had to learn how to accept her powers instead of feeling trapped by them, which was where Kenji and Warner both come in. I loved how both of them, in their own ways, try to help her accept her powers as a part of her instead of the defining characteristic about her, without becoming another security blanket.

AND KENJI. Kenji is the best, aside from Warner, obviously. He’s so great at both the tough love and the comic relief, and I’m honestly not sure which one I love more. I think he was really Juliette’s only real friend for most of the book, and while he was hard on her, I think it was exactly what she needed.

And then there was a whole bunch of stuff that went down, but for me it was all secondary to the characters, to be honest.

TL;DR: Started off with mildly whiny characters, but then character development and explosions happened and all was right with the world.

1 thought on “Review: UNRAVEL ME by Tahereh Mafi”

Leave a Reply

