What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday #38

Snowman Button (final)What I’m Reading

I finished Chasing Before, which I liked, but wished had focused more on one of the conflicts. I started Mortal Heart by Robin LaFevers, which I’m really looking forward to since I loved the first two books in the series so much.

What I’m Writing

My goal last week was to revise 10-15 pages of FROM THE ASHES, and I was able to email 15 pages to one of my CPs on Saturday. This week, I’m hoping to have at least 10-15 more pages to send her. Last week I focused a lot on developing the romance a bit more since it wasn’t present at all in the last draft. Also, things got set on fire, so that’s always fun. Especially when it leads to valid excuses to use defenestrate in a context outside the Defenestration of Prague.

What Works For Me

On my sticker calendar, I give myself a sticker every 500 words. I’ve noticed some days I have a high concentration of stickers, while on other days I have none. On the days that I have no stickers, I’ve taken to writing what I did get done that day, so I can still feel good about accomplishing SOMETHING even when I’m tired from work. I’ve realized that, even if the only thing I accomplished after work was an “accidental nap” or binge watching Chopped on Netflix, I shouldn’t feel guilty about that since the days I get the most words in are usually the days following the nights I slacked off. So now I just need to make sure I don’t let those slacker nights happen TOO often 🙂

What Else Is New

My roommates and I keep marathoning Chopped on Netflix. I don’t know why, but it’s SO ADDICTIVE. And, of course, I’ve been rooting on my Seahawks and hoping for that repete 🙂

2 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday #38

  1. I love everything you said in your What Works for Me section. YES to all of it! Especially writing what you did on sticker-less days. I am so going to try this!

Leave a Reply

