Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Book Club

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Top Ten Books I’d Want to Read in a YA Book Club

  1. Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta: I read this book two or three years ago and I still think about it all the time. There’s a lot going on in this one, but the thing I keep coming back to is the identity theme – both personal identity and cultural identity, and the search for both is strong throughout the book.
  2. If You Find Me by Emily Murdoch: This one was hard to read, especially since I had suspicions about what Carey was hiding. But I think it’s an important book to read about a girl trying to move on with her life.
  3. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski: First of all, that title by itself would be worth discussing. But then once you read the book, there’s a lot about “otherness” and morality (black and white? shades of gray?) to be discussed.
  4. A Mad, Wicked Folly by Sharon Biggs Waller: There could be interesting parallels to be drawn between the early 1900s and today.
  5. The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd: Some of the scenes involving animals in this book are really hard to IMG_0107read, but it has an interesting exploration of science and how far it should go.
  6. Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy: Alice is a very divisive character, so I think all the different insights about her would be interesting.
  7. Something Real by Heather Demetrios: This one goes behind the scenes of our obsession with reality TV and how it impacts the lives of the people actually on these shows. How “real” are they actually?
  8. The DUFF by Kody Keplinger: This one deals a lot with body image and female sexuality. Those topics are still relevant as adults.
  9. The Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney: This is one of the most important books I’ve ever read.
  10. Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver: I love how this one treats the themes of kindness and second chances, almost as much as I love Lauren Oliver’s writing. (I love Lauren Oliver’s writing a lot.)
5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Book Club”

  1. Pretty much ANY Melina Marchetta book would make for a great discussion. Finnikin is a fun choice.

    I loved Something Real too. I’m reading Heather Demetrios’s new novel right now, and it’s killing me.

    I really want to read A Mad Wicked Folly and The Duff.

    This is an excellent list.

  2. I’ve been meaning to read The Mockingbirds for ageeees now. Also I believe the DUFF is coming out as a movie this year! Quite exciting. Great list and if you’re interested here is my TTT (:

  3. Oh! I added The Mockingbirds to my wishlist last week, and I very excited to see someone mention it! I hope that I can get it soon.

Leave a Reply

