What's Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday #40

Tree70%What I’m Reading

Yesterday I finished reading THE CONSPIRACY OF US, which was super fun – conspiracy theories, mystery, and cute European boys. Last night I started LOVE AND OTHER THEORIES, which I’m only a chapter into but I already like the voice.

I’m also beta reading a couple of YA fantasy MS’s.

What I’m Writing

Still slowly but surely working on revising FROM THE ASHES. I also started drafting AN UNFORGIVING LAND, which I outlined last month, and I’m also thinking of starting an idea for a contemporary (?!!) that I’ve had worming its way into my brain for a few years now. (I’m not really planning to do anything right now with the contemporary aside from writing a horrible first draft. Since, you know, 99% of my ideas are fantasy and that’s what I want to make a career of.)

What Works For Me

The whole scheduling out writing time thing has been working so far. I have calendar alerts set up on my phone, so I get reminders so I don’t “forget.”

What Else Is New

It’s looking more and more like spring started in February for us this year? I keep waiting for it to get cold again, but it’s been weeks with no sign of that happening. We have daffodils and cherry blossoms in full bloom, which is completely bizarre, and I’ve actually been taking my allergy medicine since mid-January.

It was nice enough yesterday that my friend and I wandered around outside for awhile before renting GONE GIRL, which was every bit as twisted as the book. I’m not sure if reading the book or watching the movie was worse, to be honest, because reading the book I had no idea what was going to happen, while watching the movie I knew what was going to happen but then I got to SEE it.

6 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday #40”

  1. You and your daffodils and cherry blossoms… Phhhht. #jealous
    Happy to hear your revisions are going well and your drafting too! I set reminders in my phone for stuff all the time even though I’m pretty glued to my paper planner as well. Having that thing ding to remind you is pretty helpful. I’m so looking forward to reading THE CONSPIRACY OF US. I have it sitting here just waiting. But first (!) THE WINNER’S CRIME. 😀 Have a great week, Stephanie!

  2. As someone who considered herself a sci-fi writer, I shocked myself by writing a contemporary ghost story, so don’t rule it out ^_^ Hope all your writing projects go well.

    Gone Girl is a great adaption. I really enjoyed it.

    Have a lovely week!

  3. I also set up calendar alerts to force me to write. It works so well because it basically guilts me into writing. I feel much worse about missing a writing day when I have to physically close the pop-up. Mine says “DO YOU WANT TO BE PUBLISHED? THEN WRITE!” So, it’s not very nice, but it *is* effective. 🙂

Leave a Reply

