Ready Set Write!

Ready. Set. Write! 2015 – Update #2

RSW4

How I Did On Last Week’s Goals

HAHAHAHA. I managed 300 new words on FtA and 250 on AUL, so I was NOWHERE CLOSE. I finished reading a book, though, so I guess there’s that.

My Goals For This Week

  1. Write three days this week.
  2. Finish reading two more books.

Phrase That Sums Up What I Wrote

😦 😦 😦

The Biggest Challenge I Faced This Week

Overestimating what I can accomplish and expecting too much of myself. Today was my first day off since I wrote my post last week. (Except Wednesday, I guess, but I spent a lot of it asleep with a migraine so basically I might as well have been working.) I kept telling myself to work on my writing when I got home from work, but then I would sit down and have no energy or focus for it. So I’ve decided not to try to force myself to write after work because I need that time to just tune out. (As an introvert working with people ALL DAY EVERY DAY, this is important, I guess.)

I’m down to only one job for the summer after tomorrow, though, so that should help since I’ll have real, actual days off.

Something I Love About My WIP

Rewriting hasn’t killed me yet, so I guess there’s that.


How I Did

  • Monday: Finished reading a book, caught up on blog comments.
  • Tuesday: Last day of school; celebrated by immediately heading to Other Job HOORAY.
  • Wednesday: Work.
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
9 thoughts on “Ready. Set. Write! 2015 – Update #2”

    1. Sometimes adjustments need to be made! Revising is killer, but it’s so much better than drafting, for me. I can’t wait to finish my rewrite so I can focus on prettying everything up…

      Good luck with everything this week!

  1. Writing after work is hard! I try doing that sometimes, but my 12 hour days make it near impossible. I feel the same day after a long day with the kiddos, which is why I prefer to get up early in the morning to write! Glad you’ll have some more time to write soon!

  2. Disappointment as theme of the week, indeed! It’s both comforting and sucks to hear about others in the same boat as me — overestimating what can be accomplished; using others goals to avoid writing goals; time mismanagement (all my own failures last week, but it seems common).

    As someone who is an introvert who worked in a very extroverted job for 18 months (retail management, yeaahhh), I absolutely recommend taking the time you need to unplug/unwind/decompress after using so much energy to stay social at work. While in that job, for me, it was crucial that I got my writing in on days off and/or BEFORE work (I was mostly a closing manager, though) because after the 8 – 10 hours of “being on” for people, it was impossible. I don’t know what your job is, but if draws a lot of energy from you, my recommendation is maybe looking at when you’re writing, and if you can do it before the energy gets drained.

    Good luck this week! I like that your goals this week are balanced between reading and writing.

    1. OH YAY RETAIL. That’s what I do during the summers and a couple nights a week during the school year and I always feel like I’ve gone a round with some Dementors after I’m off work. I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s felt this.

  3. You did really well, Stephanie! Especially considering how busy you were. I opted for a time goal this week instead of a word count or chapters revised goal. Right now, I think just making time (and finding time) to write is a huge step in the right direction. I hope that works well for you this week too! 😀

  4. Don’t be too hard on yourself, Stephanie. I’m struggling with the guilt/pressure too, but sometimes forcing myself to write can make it worse. My writing time is after I come home from work, too, so I understand not having motivation after all that.

    Hope this week’s writing goes well!

  5. I can’t imagine having to write after being at work all day. I consider myself so lucky to be a stay-at-home mom. That will all change probably this fall when all my kids will be in school full time. O.O
    Good luck on this week’s goals- you can do it!

Leave a Reply

