Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Books I’ve Read In 2015

TTT2016

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Top Ten Books I’ve Read In 2015

  1. THE WINNER’S CURSE by Marie Rutkoski: I loved that this one pitted two very intelligent main characters against each other, not to mention how each comes to see the problems with judging someone based solely on their nationality. | My Review Here
  2. MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES by Jasmine Warga: This book wove together themes about depression, immigration, and parental incarceration so effortlessly. | My Review Here
  3. RED QUEEN by Victoria Aveyard: I love me some political intrigue and scary people with supernatural powers, but I also love how this one touched on how intimidation is used by people in power to oppress.
  4. ALL THE RAGE by Courtney Summers: If you’re not feeling what the title describes when you finish this one, you’re not paying attention.
  5. STOLEN SONGBIRD by Danielle L. Jensen: This one was by far the biggest surprise of the year for me. I didn’t expect a book about trolls to be so good AND YET IT WAS.
  6. THE WRATH AND THE DAWN by Renee Ahdieh: I haven’t read the original source material, so I don’t know how it holds up as a retelling, but as its own story, this one was amazing.
  7. THE SACRED LIES OF MINNOW BLY by Stephanie Oakes: This one weaves together faith and incarceration as a teenage girl tries to navigate juvenile detention and living with no hands, as well as trying to reconcile everything the cult she grew up in taught her with all of the things she’s now learning in the outside world.
  8. GOLDEN SON by Pierce Brown: Darrow, now on the inside, attempts to sow the seeds of civil war and the appropriate amount of chaos ensues.
  9. QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Sarah J. Maas: My feelings are broken.
  10. WHAT WE SAW by Aaron Hartzler: The second book about rape culture on my list this year, except this one is told from the POV of a bystander. It also analyzes pop culture in a way that will make you squeamish, as well as illustrating why we need to do a better job both teaching about consent and about how to internet responsibly.

2015Reads12015Reads2

What are the best books you’ve read this year?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’ve Read In 2015”

Leave a Reply

