Uncategorized

2015 End of Year Book Survey

This is a survey about books I read in 2015 that’s hosted by Jamie at The Perpetual Page Turner. It’s going to include all of the books I read in 2015, not just ones that were published in 2015.

IMG_1535

2015 Reading Stats

  • Number Of Books You Read: 50
  • Number Of Re-Reads: 1
  • Genre You Read The Most From: Contemporary (19 books)

Best In Books

  1. Best Book You Read In 2015: I’m going to cheat and link to my Top Ten Books I’ve Read In 2015.
  2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t: STORM SIREN by Mary Weber. I enjoyed it, but the flap summary made me think I’d love it more than I did.
  3. Most surprising book you read: STOLEN SONGBIRD by Danielle L. Jensen. I didn’t expect to be so addicted to this one given that it revolves around trolls.
  4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read: ALL THE RAGE by Courtney Summers and WHAT WE SAW by Aaron Hartzler. Also, I continued to push THE MOCKINGBIRDS by Daisy Whitney even though I read that one last year.
  5. Best series you started in 2015: The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski | Best Sequel of 2015: QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Sarah J. Maas | Best Series Ender of 2015: IGNITE ME by Tahereh Mafi
  6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2015: Victoria Aveyard
  7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read: WOLF BY WOLF by Ryan Graudin (alternative history)
  8. Most unputdownable book of the year: Tie between THE WINNER’S CURSE by Marie Rutkoski and STOLEN SONGBIRD by Danielle L. Jensen
  9. Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year: WHAT WE SAW by Aaron Hartzler. I’m going to be thinking about this one for a very long time.
  10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015: THE WINNER’S CURSE by Marie Rutkoski. THE DRESS. THE SUBTLE MUSIC NOD.
  11. Most memorable character of 2015: Thorne from CRESS by Marissa Meyer. Who could ever forget about him?
  12. Most beautifully written book in 2015: THE SACRED LIES OF MINNOW BLY by Stephanie Oakes. Oakes got into Minnow’s head so effectively and the structure of the story made it have more impact.
  13. Most Thought-Provoking Book of 2015: WHAT WE SAW by Aaron Hartzler
  14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read: THE WINNER’S CURSE by Marie Rutkoski. How I managed to resist despite all the wonderful things my friends were saying about it last year is beyond me.
  15. Favorite Passage From A Book You Read In 2015: “Depression is like a heaviness that you can’t ever escape. It crushes down on you, making even the smallest things like tying your shoes or chewing on toast seem like a twenty-mile hike uphill. Depression is a part of you; it’s in your bones and your blood.” -MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES by Jasmine Warga
  16. Shortest Book You Read In 2015: FRACTURE ME by Tahereh Mafi (62 pages) | Longest Book: THE BRONZE HORSEMAN by Paullina Simons (912 pages)
  17. Book That Shocked You The Most: Tie between QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Sarah J. Maas and GOLDEN SON by Pierce Brown
  18. OTP OF THE YEAR: Juliette & Warner from the Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi
  19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year: George & Kelly from GEORGE by Alex Gino
  20. Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously: Tied between QUEEN OF SHADOWS by Sarah J. Maas and ALL THE RAGE by Courtney Summers
  21. Best Book You Read In 2015 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else: STOLEN SONGBIRD by Danielle L. Jensen. I read the Goodreads summary before I bought it, but I only read it because I’d seen a couple of glowing reviews from people whose judgement I trust.
  22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015: I crushed pretty hard on Arin when I was reading THE WINNER’S CURSE.
  23. Best 2015 debut you read: Tie between RED QUEEN by Victoria Aveyard and THE WRATH AND THE DAWN by Renée Ahdieh
  24. Best Worldbuilding You Read This Year: THE WRATH AND THE DAWN by Renée Ahdieh
  25. Book That Was The Most FUN To Read: KISSING MAX HOLDEN by Katy Upperman. It had cute boys and baked goods, so I was in.
  26. Book That Made You Nearly Cry in 2015: Tie between THE WINNER’S CURSE and STOLEN SONGBIRD because I was so frustrated and very much not okay at the end of both.
  27. Hidden Gem Of The Year: STOLEN SONGBIRD. I feel like I haven’t seen a lot of people talking about it. GIVE THE TROLLS A CHANCE.
  28. Book That Crushed Your Soul: I WILL GIVE YOU A LIST — THE WINNER’S CURSE, STOLEN SONGBIRD, QUEEN OF SHADOWS, RED QUEEN, THE WRATH AND THE DAWN, WHAT WE SAW, ALL THE RAGE. I had a lot of feelings this year.
  29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2015: GEORGE by Alex Gino. I label this one as “unique” because it’s literally the only MG book I’ve ever seen featuring a character who is trans. I hope that someday the label “unique” won’t apply to books about characters who are trans.
  30. Book That Made You The Most Mad: Tie between WHAT WE SAW and ALL THE RAGE. I had the hardest time putting either of them down and yet spent the entire time I wasn’t putting them down wanting to throw them at the wall because I was just so ANGRY.

Looking Ahead

  1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2016: SO MANY but I’ve got DUMPLIN’ by Julie Murphy in my TBR stack next to my bed so I’m going with that one.
  2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2016 (non-debut): TRUTHWITCH by Susan Dennard
  3. 2016 Debut You Are Most Anticipating: THE CROWN’S GAME by Evelyn Skye, SUMMER OF SLOANE by Erin L. Schneider, OF FIRE AND STARS by Audrey Coulthurst, and PLEASE DON’T TELL by Laura Tims
  4. A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2016: Throne of Glass Book 5, of course.
  5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2016: Read more diverse books!
Leave a Reply

