And Then Life Happened

Currently…

IMG_2183Loving

Boots. Because it’s cold. Too cold. I don’t like it.

Reading

THE SHATTERED COURT by M.J. Scott, which is much heavier on the romance side than I was expecting. It is very much aimed toward adults.

I finished SERPENTINE by Cindy Pon earlier this week. I really liked the setting, which was inspired by Chinese folklore, but I had a hard time getting into other aspects of it. I’ll post an actual review soon.

IMG_2215

I also set my Goodreads Challenge at 100 books again this year, which LOL FOREVER given all of the other things I’m doing (two jobs! getting a MS ready to query this year! trying to go back to school!) but it never hurts to try, I guess.

Watching

I’ve seen the new Star Wars twice, and I love it. LOVE IT. I feel like J.J. Abrams did a great job righting the wrong that was the prequels. My family also marathoned Episodes I-VI over Christmas because my brother got them all on Blu-ray, and we laughed at all of Anakin’s horrible monologues in Attack of the Clones.

I also saw the Sherlock special at the movie theater on Wednesday night, so that was pretty cool. I was fortunate in that I somehow managed to avoid all of the spoilers on Twitter.

Listening To

Ellie Goulding came out with a new album a couple months back and I’ve been listening to it way more than I’ve been listening to Adele’s, tbh.

Thinking About

How many words I’ve actually written, and how exhausting that really is. I’m working on the fourth draft of the MS I’m planning to query later this year. THAT IS SO MANY WORDS. And yet I generally forget about that since I usually only focus on the words one day at a time. They really add up!

Anticipating

I applied to grad school. I’m hoping to go for a MLIS and also do a school library media endorsement, because while I love teaching, I also love being surrounded by books all day, so being a school librarian feels like the thing that makes the most sense to me at this point in my life. Also, talking to kids about books and seeing them so excited when they talk about them is the actual best, so sign me right up for that.

Anyway, I’m supposed to hear back in mid-March…right around my birthday.

Wishing

More hours in the day so I could actually read all of these books that almost crushed me to death in the earthquake last week. (Kidding. They didn’t even move. BUT WHAT IF THEY HAD.)

Making Me Happy

Hot chocolate. Because, as I’ve already stated, it is cold.

IMG_2204

1 thought on “Currently…”

Leave a Reply

