Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Unpopular Opinions

TTT2016

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week I decided to split my ten selections between TWO lists: five characters I dislike that everyone else seems to like, and five characters I like that everyone else seems to dislike.

Five Characters I Dislike Despite Popular Opinion

1. Tatiana & Alexander from THE BRONZE HORSEMAN by Paullina Simons: I’ve seen nothing but lovely things about this book in the blogosphere (which is why I picked it up to begin with) but I just couldn’t get into what was supposed to be an epic romance. Like, Alexander cheated on his girlfriend? Who – OH YEAH – also happened to be Tatiana’s sister. And he also seemed to fetishize Tatiana’s innocence and youth, which I was uncomfortable with. And Tatiana’s naiveté just about life in general rubbed me the wrong way.

2. Alex from DELIRIUM by Lauren Oliver: I never really liked him as a character and I just couldn’t ship him and Lena. Especially after Julian came along and I liked him so much BETTER as a character.

3. Emerson from HOURGLASS by Myra McEntire: People generally lauded Emerson’s sass, which I’ll agree was enjoyable. But I found her to be a pretty flat character all-around, so there’s that.

4. America from The Selection series by Kiera Cass: Like, obviously lots of people like America, since all of these books are best-sellers. But she seems to be severely lacking in critical thinking skills. I realize she’s a teenager and they don’t always make the best decisions, but COME ON, America. Also, the waffling between two boys thing got old very fast and by the end I was mostly just Team Both Boys Running Far, Far Away. (And yet I can’t stop reading these books, so good job on that, Cass.)

5. Jon from The Song of the Lioness quartet by Tamora Pierce: YES I WENT THERE. I remember when I read these books for the first time in high school, I thought Jon was the biggest jerk to Alanna after they broke up – which happened because Jon wanted her to marry him and settle down as his eventual queen and she wanted to hold onto her independence. You do you, Alanna.

The Soul Cleansing: Five Characters I Like Despite Popular Opinion

6. Alice from SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY by Julie Murphy: I loved how well the character development was handled here. Thinking she’s going to die, Alice is unapologetically horrible to everyone (which is, I suspect, why people don’t like her), but when it turns out her cancer is in remission, she has to come to terms with the chaos she’s wrought.

7. Anna from USES FOR BOYS by Erica Lorraine Scheidt: Anna doesn’t have the best home life, so she self-medicates with boys. My heart broke for her and I wanted to pull her aside and tell her everything would be okay. Also, I appreciated how unflinchingly honest this book felt.

8. Amy from GONE GIRL by Gillian Flynn: ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

9. Samantha from BEFORE I FALL by Lauren Oliver: Samantha, resident popular girl and bully, gets a chance at redemption in the aftermath of a fatal car accident. She starts off as ~unlikeable~ (whatever that means in the context of female characters), but the character development is handled very well as Samantha is forced to confront the results of her bullying.

10. Aubrey from LOVE AND OTHER THEORIES by Alexis Bass: A book about how messy relationships of all kinds can be in high school. Aubrey uses casual hookups as a defense mechanism to protect her heart, because she’s afraid that if she actually lets herself develop feelings for a guy, she’ll only get her heart broken in the end. And on top of that, she learns a lot about supporting other girls instead of tearing them down.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Unpopular Opinions

  1. When I first saw Jon’s name, my first reaction was incredulity! But the more I thought about it, the more it made sense. I agree, he was a total ass to her after they broke up, and I didn’t even want them together in the first place. So I totally get how he could make this list, even if I never really hated him myself 🙂

    My TTT.

Leave a Reply

