And Then Life Happened

Currently…

12828540_10156566462050324_4223981036822859824_o

Loving

I’m currently obsessed with the cover of this journal I repurposed into a planner, because it’s really soft. Also, it’s a nice shade of blue.

Screen Shot 2016-03-11 at 9.58.22 AM

Reading

Since my last post (in January 😖), I’ve read:

  • DUMPLIN’ by Julie Murphy: I loved the voice in this one (and I reviewed it here).
  • LAST SONG BEFORE NIGHT by Ilana C. Myer: I loved the premise, but it felt like it lacked urgency.
  • SOUNDLESS by Richelle Mead: Despite claiming to be based on Chinese folklore – which was the reason I read it to begin with – it felt very generic to me. Like, the Screen Shot 2016-03-11 at 10.15.59 AMsetting could’ve been literally anything. So I was disappointed.
  • SIREN’S FURY by Mary Weber: This series so far is quick and fun. I would’ve liked Nym’s internal conflict to be played up a little more in this book, though.
  • THE GUNSLINGER by Stephen King: This is the first Stephen King book I’ve ever read. It won’t be the last. It wasn’t my usual thing, but the world was developed so well, I’m going to keep reading this series. And then kick my inner scaredy cat aside and read his other books.
  • ALL WE HAVE IS NOW by Lisa Schroeder: I liked the writing, but the third person present narrative made it hard to feel attached to any of the characters.
  • MORNING STAR by Pierce Brown: I finished this one a week ago and I still have a lot of feelings. Also: BYE FELICIA.

I’m currently rereading THE EYE OF THE WORLD by Robert Jordan, because I got halfway through the Wheel of Time series before stopping and I’ve decided it’s time to finish it, except it’s been so long that I’ve forgotten basically everything that’s already happened.

Watching

I’ve sort of abandoned the TV shows I was watching (again) to have more time to read and write. But I HAVE been watching the presidential debates, and I also watch John Oliver’s show and The Daily Show religiously. So.

And now I feel sad again.

Listening To

Screen Shot 2016-03-11 at 10.20.30 AM.png

I’m still obsessed with Ellie Goulding’s latest album. Also, I usually enjoy Spotify’s #ThrowbackThursday playlist. There tend to be some fun things on there.

Thinking About

12783552_10156578040080324_5715194491208978722_oRevisions, as always. I got some feedback from a CP on the first 50 pages of FTA that made me rethink where my story actually starts (spoiler alert: not where I actually started it) so I’ve decided to scrap the 20k I’ve revised so far and start over back at the beginning since the changes I’ve decided to make will actually benefit the story as a whole. I talked the planned changes over with my other CPs, so now I’m ready to go!

Anticipating

I’m supposed to hear back from the University of Washington about grad school in the next week or two, and I’m trying not to freak out. Also, I’m having flashbacks to when I queried SHARDS, because waiting is the actual worst. (I use up all of my patience on my students and my customers, apparently.)

Wishing

The U.S. election cycle didn’t last a million years.

Screen Shot 2016-03-11 at 10.28.15 AM

Making Me Happy

Not working at the store on Saturdays for the past couple months. Is this what having a weekend feels like???

11252006_10156538413620324_7974266523336213267_o

Leave a Reply

