Book Reviews

Book Review: THE GUNSLINGER

43615Title: THE GUNSLINGER
Author: Stephen King
Series: The Dark Tower, #1
Genre: Adult – Fantasy/Horror/Western/Post-Apocalyptic
Publication Information: NAL, 2003 (originally published in 1982)
Rating: 3 Stars
Recommended For: People who enjoy genre bending and constant confusion.
Watch Out For: Violence, sexual content, sexual violence

In The Gunslinger (originally published in 1982), King introduces his most enigmatic hero, Roland Deschain of Gilead, the Last Gunslinger. He is a haunting, solitary figure at first, on a mysterious quest through a desolate world that eerily mirrors our own. Pursuing the man in black, an evil being who can bring the dead back to life, Roland is a good man who seems to leave nothing but death in his wake.

(Summary from Goodreads)

I’ve had several people recommend The Dark Tower series to me, so I figured that since there’s an adaptation in the works, it’s time to finally read it. While it’s not what I normally read, there were certain aspects of it that I enjoyed, and I plan to continue reading the rest of the series.

I spent a lot of time being confused about what was happening in the story – my usual response to thrillers, admittedly. This threw me off a bit. I also had a hard time because so much of it is spent in Roland’s head – there are occasional appearances from other characters, but mostly it’s all Roland.

I did enjoy how atmospheric the book was, though. King did an excellent job immersing us in Roland’s world from the start. I was actually in awe of this aspect of the book, since he constructs the setting so effortlessly. He doesn’t spend a ton of time describing it like in some of the other fantasy series I’ve read – instead it unfolds in front of us as we follow Roland on his journey through the desert without us even realizing what’s happening. The writing is really what kept me going here.

TL;DR: Here for the writing, lukewarm about everything else.

Leave a Reply

